October Favourites


It’s the end of October (which means it’s even closer to Christmas eek!). So that means I have collected all of my favourite things together which I have been particularly enjoying this month.


Beauty |

rimmel match perfection foundation

Rimmel’s Match Perfection foundation
I started using this foundation this month after years of using Rimmel’s Wake Me Up foundation, being more of a summer foundation with microscopic nuggets of glitter swilling through, I wanted more of a subtle look for the winter. My skin shade is ‘porcelain’ and it really does go with the brand name match perfection. As my skin has a redness to it, this is a good foundation to cover that to a satisfying amount which avoids looking cakey and unnatural. I have an oily skin complexion and to be honest, it doesn’t make it any better, however I never forget to apply my Rimmel’s Stay Matte pressed powder (my life saver) to cancel out the annoying shininess my face possesses. The packaging is simple and classy, however the lid does have a tendency to become loose and fling off when it desires.
I apply this with Real Techniques’ experts face brush from the back of my hand, working from the middle of the face, outwards.


Buy it here


sleek contour

Sleek’s Contour Kit
I am so in love with this bargain of a product! This bronzer and highlighter duo really makes my face look more defined on my nights out. I accidently picked up the ‘medium’ shade despite my one being extremely pale, however with enough blending with the correct brushes I can really make it work. They come in shades ‘Light’, ‘Medium’ and ‘Dark’. If you are not a fan of a highlighter with a bit of shimmer, this isn’t for you (however I don’t use it if I am not going to a really important event therefore you could still purchase this and still be satisfied).
I apply the bronzer to places where the sun would usually hit and the contours of the face, under the cheek bones (make a fish face and you will get a more defined outline) the jawline, the top of the forehead and to make the nose look slimmer, the two bones which follow the brows with my Real Technique’s contour brush, and blend with Real Technique’s buffing brush and it gives the best results. I apply the highlighter lightly with your average foundation brush across the top of the apples of the cheeks. The packaging, I believe, is so beautiful with a large mirror inside also.


Buy it here


starry eyed lipstick

Rimmel’s Lasting Finish Lipstick in ‘Starry eyed’
Another Rimmel product? Indeed. Their lipstick range is truly one of my favourites ever! As it is Autumn/Winter, the dark, vampy lipsticks are all the rage, this wine coloured gem caught my eye an I just had to snatch it from the shelf.
Before I apply, I use Rimmel’s 1000 kisses lip liner in the colour ‘wine’ which gives me a more intense darkness and also prevents bleeding of the product.


Buy it here


barry m

Barry M’s MATTE Nail Polish in ‘Caramel’
I am not a huge Barry M fan I have to say, however when I came across the MATTE range, it really caught my eye. I love how different and unique matte nail polish is anyway, but when I seen this beautiful nude colour I just had to get it. I would love to get the other eleven colours in the range. This colour, which is very fitting to the season, would look lovely even with top coat over it if you don’t wish to have mattified nails


Buy it here


star wand

Lush’s ‘Magic Wand’ Bubble Bar
This, to me, means winter, as this only came in season recently, along with the other ‘snow fairy’ like scents. This literally smells like sweets and I have to literally stop myself from having a cheeky nibble when it’s bath time.
All you do is hold this under the tap while the hot water is running into your bath, then swish it around the tub until you are satisfied. There aren’t a huge amount of bubbles produced with this, nor does your bath go crazy like the other bath products you can purchase from Lush, it just goes a slight tint of pink and makes you smell like you have just came out of Willy Wonka’s factory! The bell that jingles is also a cute, Christmassy little touch too. This is also fabulous for the Christmas stocking also.


Buy it here


Non-beauty |

Wenworth S2 Generics

TV Show | Wentworth Prison
Season 2 of this fantastic Australian prison Drama has started this month and I couldn’t be more excited or obsessed with it.
It is based on a fictional women’s prison with an array of characters of both the officers and the prisoners. Incredibly, you are always rooting for the inmates in fights, escapes and their overall life despite them being criminals. The cast are absolutely fantastic and look perfect for the character they are made to play. I am the only person in my group of friends who watches this and I encourage everyone to go and watch it now!

tassimo

Tassimo’s Coffee Maker

I am a coffee fiend, I can easily have six cups of coffee a day and this machine makes is 100x easier. All you have to do is put a coffee pod inside the latch above where the cup goes and press the right hand button, simple! The pods come separately and you can get them from your local supermarket (they are pricy but totally worth it). My favourite being Kenco’s ‘café crema’.


Buy it here


So that’s it! I hope you have enjoyed looking at what I have been loving this month and go out and buy everything (okay maybe that is asking a bit too much of you). Make sure you keep a look out for next month favourites. Happy Halloween!


L.K. Beauty x


One thought on “October Favourites

  1. Pingback: Beauty | Make-up Tutorial | Simple Nightime look | L.K.beauty

Leave a Reply

